Fireworks – It’s all in the Presentation

Fireworks_IMG-7040079

It is hard to make something new with fireworks. I can think of several styles: traditional, lots of context, and zoomies. This year I saw something new to me – changing focus. What I learned when I started to edit mine, is that it was not so much what I took, but how I chose to present it.

All images taken with the Olympus OM-D E-M5 and M. Zuiko 12-50 Zoom. Roughly f/11 @ ISO 200. Some straight, some zoomed. I used the LIVEBULB mode to judge exposure and timing as I watched the image appear on the back screen. This is what I would call the antithesis of shooting film.

Fireworks_IMG-7040042

Fireworks_IMG-7040053

Fireworks_IMG-7040057

Fireworks_IMG-7040081

Fireworks_IMG-7040048

Fireworks_IMG-7040056Fireworks_IMG-7040084

4 Responses to “Fireworks – It’s all in the Presentation”

  1. These are fantastic. It’s hard to look at fireworks shots in new ways, I think you are on to something

  2. The texture of the clouds in this image I captured was more interesting than the burst of the fireworks.

    http://michaelchan.org/photos/Fireworks 2013/P7040040.jpg.php

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

