The Puzzle

Puzzle

Here is my second image of Frank Gehry’s Disney Hall in Los Angeles taken on film with a Hasselblad 500 C/M and 80mm Planar lens.

An implication of shooting medium format is that, due to the prohibitive cost of an entry-level medium format digital camera or digital back, I now need to work with film. At first I was intimidated. Although I have blossomed as a photographer using digital, I can also see how it makes us lazy. It has made me lazy in evaluating composition and lazy in evaluating exposure. I shoot, look at the back of the camera, adjust, and shoot again. If I get close, I move on remembering the digital mantra, “I can fix it in post”.

I built my plan to use a digital camera for proofing the exposure and composition before committing an image to film. After reading and re-reading Ansel Adam’s The Negative, I carefully metered the scene both using spot metering and evaluative metering. I was interested in see the difference between what I might set thinking through the Zone system and the evaluative metering the camera would suggest. I also bracketed one stop lighter for fear of losing detail in the shadows, as Mr. Adams so carefully warns.

Leave a Reply

