Looking for Simple

Morro Rock

Off and running with my Hasselblad, I’m looking for simple. My time in Morro Bay was far too short and the opportunities were sparse. Although the images I will present here will not win any awards, they are my first steps toward simple. Simple, quiet landscapes. This is why I bought the Hasselblad, to pursue something different from my street scenes.

What do I mean by a quiet landscape – I’m looking for forms and textures. These are not about processing and drama. These are not about big sweeping views. These are simple straight forward views of the quiet world around us. I’m looking to get intimate with this part of my work.

These are proofs which were taken with my Canon 5dmkII. I used the 5d to evaluate composition and exposure.

Montona d'Oro

Morro Bay Hills

2 Comments to “Looking for Simple”

  1. Are you going to scan the negatives from your Hasselblad, or just print them? i am looking forward to seeing them….

    • Neil – I’m getting them developed and then scanned at a medium resolution. If I like what I see I’ll get specific ones scanned at a higher res and then digitally print. At least, that is what I’m thinking right now. First just waiting to see the actually film and scans.

Leave a Reply

