Hasselblad loaded and ready to roll

This weekend I take my 1971 era Hasselblad 500 C/M – 80mm CF T* lens out for it’s inaugural shoot.

I’ve had a few set backs in getting this kit up and running, which, as I think about it, shouldn’t surprise me. When the camera came, I wanted to make sure I understood how to use it. There are three basics to Hasselblad operations:

  1. It doesn’t shoot unless the “dark slide” has been removed.
  2. You need to make sure the camera is wound/cocked before you do most stuff (like put the lens on and off).
  3. The body red/white indicator and the back red/white indicator should match before you put the back on or off.

The camera is ordered in pieces – a body, a lens, a view finder, a film back (or magazine). Each piece can work, or not. Long story short, I went through two magazines from KEH (both rated E+), both with distinct operational problems and by now it is Friday afternoon and I *really* want to bring this camera out to Morro Bay this weekend.

I started calling local camera stores. Samy’s Camera in Los Angeles to the rescue. I came in with my camera (60 miles in LA traffic). Mike, at the repair desk, was great and confirmed that my magazines (film backs) were bad. He brought me over to the sales desk where Sean showed me a nearly perfect 1990 magazine. Mike checked the new back out thoroughly and gave it a clean bill of health.

Tonight my Hasselblad is finally loaded with Kodak Ektar 100. I’m ready for some color landscape up in Morro Bay.

Tags:

4 Comments to “Hasselblad loaded and ready to roll”

  1. I might have gone with Portra (more forgiving) for my first roll, but good luck with trip and shots. I would love to hear about it next meeting…

  2. Ektar is for ectoplasm. Kodachrome is for landscapes (oh, wait, in a fit of corporate wisdom, they killed one of the finest films ever….)

Leave a Reply

