Early Morning Havana

Havana Morning

I took this image early morning and just cranked up the ISO to 25600. The mixed lighting and beat up streets was more than I could pass up even though I pretty much knew it was beyond the capabilities on my Oly OMD. I figured I had enough images with blurry people and cars.

The final camera settings were 1/1000 sec at f/1.8, ISO 25600 with the Olympus 17mm f/1.8 lens; (the native high-ISO on the Oly OMD is 5000, anything above that is in the extended range). It turns out, it was pretty darn grainy, but also pretty well exposed to the right so all my shadow detail was there. The results are based on some tender-loving-care in Nik Define and Lightroom.

Originally I figured I’d keep it in B&W, to accept the grain and cancel out all the crazy white-balance. The color also has it’s charms.

Havana Morning

2 Comments to “Early Morning Havana”

  1. Bang on! I too love both edits, while I lean toward the B&W as conveying a down and dirty, hard edge to the scene.

    While Cuba is “picturesque” to those of us who have never been there, it’s also true that Cuba has more than its share of a hard-scrabble existence, which I think the B&W treatment more fully conveys.

Leave a Reply

