2 Bodies, 5 Lenses, Accessories and Chargers – all in a small bag

(Warning – cheap snapshots ahead)

I’m leaving for Miami and Cuba on Sunday and the anticipation is so great I was packed by Friday night.

IMG_2813

See that small bag on the right? It’s about half the size of a full sized backpack. That’s my camera gear. All of it. (Ok, the tripod is in the suitcase).

Two camera bodies, 5 lenses and the usual polarizer, ND, cable release, lens cleaning accessories, chargers and batteries.

To be more precise:

  • 2 – Olympus OM-D E-M5  (I’m renting one from LensRentals)
  • Olympus 12mm f/2.0 M. Zuiko  (rented)
  • Olympus M. Zuiko 35mm f/1.8
  • Panasonic Leica DG Summilux 25mm f/1.4
  • Olympus M. Zuiko 44mm f/1.8
  • Olympus M. Zuiko 75mm f/1.8 (rented)
  • Various filter

IMG_2814

The only thing the Oly MFT system doesn’t have going for it is battery life. I’m actually bringing 9 batteries. 3 genuine Oly batteries (about 3-4 hours each), 2 Wasabi batteries that have proven to be very reliable, and 4 other after market batteries that are backup to the backup. Each will get me through an hour or so each. But what the heck – the rest of the kit is so small and light – who cares!

Today’s task – set  the custom settings of the rental Oly to match my personal Oly so that it doesn’t matter which camera I pick up, I’m ready to go.

3 Comments to “2 Bodies, 5 Lenses, Accessories and Chargers – all in a small bag”

  1. You will love Cuba, the people are friendly, intelligent and outgoing. The place itself is a living museum with gorgeous weather. Don’t forget your customs declaration on the gear, both the US and Cuban officials are very fussy about bringing in and taking out hi-tech gear. You will have an official minder; be your charming self and they will let you shoot almost anything you like. Enjoy!

    Here’s an image of Santiago de Cuba that was shot by my buddy Marc PoKempner:

    PS: I don’t see a strobelight light on your list; you will no doubt be in some interiors that are seriously going to need some bounce/fill light.

    • Glenn – thanks! That picture is incredible! What a sight.
      Ah strobes… my IQ goes down 20points when I stick one on my camera. I do have a small flash for the Oly which is coming with.

  2. I know you are going to have fun and get great shots, so all that is left to say is have a great trip!

Leave a Reply

