Yes, I photograph. Would you like to see what I’ve seen lately?

Glide

Yesterday I visited PhotoLA and met a seemingly nice bunch of photographers for lunch with the hopes of talking about shared passion. Lunch, however, didn’t go as planned.

During lunch, someone asked me “Are you a photographer?” I thought I knew the answer: “Yes, I am, thank you very much. Would you like to see some of my work?” But instead I hesitated, I stammered, and finally muttered some confidence-lacking statement about Computer Science and a day-job.

The question stopped me in my tracks because at that moment, in that setting, the question seemed empty and self-limiting. The questions I was longing to answer were more expansive: “Do you photograph?” “What do you photography?” and “Why do you photograph that?”

I do not define myself merely, simply, solely, as a photographer. Over my still-short 54 years, I have developed a high-level of proficiency in many things. I consider myself a musician, computer scientist, teacher, manager, presenter, photographer, good cook, daughter, sister, and wife. I am a passionate learner and teacher. I make my living as a technical manager building on a 25 year career in Computer Science. The many years I spent studying, performing, and teaching classical music are foundational to how I approach my life accomplishments. I study, I practice, I seek feedback from the masters, I teach in order to learn, I present in order to give back, and I perform in order to create.

The statement “I am a photographer” is far to limiting to fulfill a lifetime of desires or express a lifetime of experiences. It puts me in a box and narrows my path. I am myself. I work, play, and love. What I do for work, play or love is a reflection of myself not a definition of myself.

I am not defined by what I create, I create from my experiences and observations.

I am not defined by how many people see my work, I decide when and where to publish my work when it is ready and by the audience it is intended to reach.

I am not defined by the number of comments I give or receive on social media, I speak when I have something to say.

I do not live to be a photographer, I photograph because I am an observer and story teller. I use photography as a means of expression. To show people what I see that they may not have seen.

Yes, I photograph. Would you like to see what I’ve seen lately?

3 Comments to “Yes, I photograph. Would you like to see what I’ve seen lately?”

  1. Therein is your artist statement.

  2. You are an intrepid, talented photographer.I think intuition is the main driver of excellence. I strive to be more like Saul Leiter who says “just take the image”..Like halley Berry said in the a movie..”just fly the plane”lol..I think searching your soul just leaves you with more information about your soul and not your exterior sensory input process which IS taking the image. Good luck. Breathstone Photography.

Leave a Reply

