On the road… thinking about history and photography

20121019-105658.jpg
Today’s “Scene in Front of Me” from the iPad and Snapseed

I’m on the road heading to Vancouver for a photography gathering with David DuChemin and then heading on to Las Vegas for a work conference.

The good thing about travel is, with all the waiting, you have time to think. This morning I’m thinking about the concept of history and photography. Often, as I study the great street photographers I look at an image and think “that really captures the ). And this leads me to thinking about what images I can take now that, in 10, 20, 30 years, trigger some viewer to think “That really captures the early 21st century”.

I want in my photography to go beyond graphic design and good light, and capture something in today’s everyday life that is some how significant to today’s culture.

Well, those are my humble thoughts for today and a very humble image of the scene in front of me.

Tags:

One Comment to “On the road… thinking about history and photography”

  1. HAVE A GREAT TRIP NANCE. Keep an i out for me, I might wander into sight one of these days.

Leave a Reply

