On being open

Today I went shooting on Hollywood Boulevard. As I rode home I was not at all sure that I had written anything worthwhile to my memory card. I doubted. Perhaps I’m not a cut out to be a street photographer. Perhaps I should stick to genres more easily controlled.

After I got home, ate, and showered, and started working through the day’s shots I was able to get a little perspective on what transpired.

My problems stemmed not from technique or composition (though, certainly not all perfect), but rather I had problems seeing and isolating. But by the end of the day, I had decided to concentrate on people in cars and to my surprise, I found many more interesting images after this decision. But Jay (Maisel) whisper’s in my ear “Be Open”. How do I reconcile the words of the master against the difficultly of finding the needle in a haystack of “openness”?

For the last hour or so, I was less open. I was specifically concentrating on people in cars. I had constrained my world but the constraint felt good. The constraint gave me some boundaries within which to explore.With the boundaries in place, I began to relax and and find comfort and find a creativity within the boundaries and starting seeing more and more interesting opportunities.

Being open creates a big world in which to wander and it was too big of a world for me this afternoon.

3 Comments to “On being open”

  1. Am thoroughly enjoying your deconstruction of Jay’s philosophy….thanks for sharing….and keep it coming 🙂

  2. The sonnet is a very rigid structure, certain rhyming pattern, certain rhythm. Within that structure anything can occur. The same with photography. You were open to too much. Too much becomes overwhelming. Isolating to an area, such as cars, gives you all the freedom you need within that context. And success can follow, even within the confines of that struggle.

    • -N- I have been thinking along the same lines. I’m just a mere mortal, adding some constraints is not a bad idea to start.

Leave a Reply

