Day 0 with Jay Maisel

Roughly 3000 miles, but a world away, here is my first look at the New York City skyline as I land at Newark Airport. Tomorrow morning I meet Jay Maisel and he meets me. My cameras are set to shoot RAW + jpeg and it is yet to be determined if I’ll go ahead and shoot bracketed as Jay does.

In the note Jay sent as a preamble to the workshop, he asks three, not so simple, questions:

  1. Who are you and what do you shoot?
  2. Why are you taking this particular workshop?
  3. What are you intending to learn?

I have always found it difficult to answer questions like #3. Mostly I live life opportunistically, not seeking, instead waiting for opportunities coming to me. Sometimes it works extraordinarily well and other times, not. But always it leads me to something worthwhile and fulfilling.

Tomorrow I have almost no idea what to actually expect. All I really know is that the “doors open at 8:30” and class starts at 9. We are each to bring 10 images. 10 images times 10 participants. Will Jay critic 100 images tomorrow? What does he mean “and be prepared to defend them with your life”?

My answer to question #3: I am looking to the learn what I don’t even yet know how to ask.

2 Responses to “Day 0 with Jay Maisel”

  1. Alluring sky!!! Thanks for sharing Nonoy Manga

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

