Aspens lit like Jack-o-Lanterns on Halloween

Into the Sun
Into the Sun by I Nancy, on Flickr

It was a quiet morning in the canyon on the road to South Lake outside of Bishop. We had been scouting around North Lake the day before and, as had been reported by others, much of the color was damaged by the storm the week before. We headed down the South Fork road, not too early, and stopped at a pull off with a promising grove and access to the creek. Being in the canyon, we had a couple hours of beautiful soft morning light before the sun would crest over the eastern canyon walls. These first images I’m posting are from the 15 minutes after the sun crested over the wall and lit up the aspens like jack-o-lanterns on Halloween. They were taken between around 10am and 10:15. (If you check the EXIF, I believe my camera clock is off by one hour, as I customarily never set it to daylight time).

Although, some talked disappointingly about the mix of green and yellows, I was delighted with the mix of colors. You will see even more of this mixture in my next post which will show the grove before the sun came up. I have also been fascinated with tree-scapes for some time and mentally I was really searching them.

Nature's Stained Glass
Nature’s Stained Glass by I Nancy, on Flickr

3 Comments to “Aspens lit like Jack-o-Lanterns on Halloween”

  1. Beautiful Images!

  2. We found beautiful Aspens, I have never seen them before in Fall. I had such fun. Managed to find a few water falls, and the North Lakes Water run off into the Creek, it was amazing, What a fantastic Field Trip.

Leave a Reply

