Which Track? Which Train? – Adding Depth

Which Track? Which Train?
Which Track? Which Train? by I Nancy, on Flickr

In David DuChemin‘s latest e-Book, A Deeper Frame, he discusses using depth to keep the reader (not viewer, his term) engaged in your imagery. As I read the book, I inevitably started to view my images to see where I had created depth and where I had not. I evaluated the images, with and without, on my own subjective scale to determine how I was using depth and it impact on the final result. This image uses layers and scale to bring the reader into its deep frame. David refers to these mechanisms as perspective and “cubing the image”.

The image is a reflection into a busy part of the Los Angeles Union Station lobby. The large lettering is part of the big glass sign showing destinations and track numbers. The image found its way to B&W because the lighting on the sign was a bright neon-green and, probably as intended, overwhelmed everything else. The layers in the reflection include a high-contrast sign with directions and the perspective of people – larger nearer the sign and smaller as they recede into the hallway. There is a powerful sense of geometry created by the intersecting overhead lighting crossing with dark sign, but the payoff is the human elements within. Not only a something we can relate to directly, but each group telling their own story.

If you haven’t picked up a copy of David’s book, I highly recommend it. It comes as an electronic PDF e-Book and is available from Craft and Vision. At $5 is won’t take a much of a bite out of your wallet and won’t even clutter your bookcase.

2 Comments to “Which Track? Which Train? – Adding Depth”

  1. Cool reflections, and by that I specifically mean your words more than the photo, although that’s good too. Depth is not something I think about consciously at all in my photography, except when I’m obviously using bokeh. It’s there, sometimes, and I probably should become more aware of it also. Thanks for making me think.

Leave a Reply

