Timeless on the Coast

Timeless
Timeless by I Nancy, on Flickr

Here is my first post from the Coast and Crest photo tour with Dan Holmes. This long exposure was taken on a very windy night from the bluffs south of the Piedras Blancas Lighthouse near San Simeon.

Did I mention that it was windy, very windy, extremely windy? Well it was windy and it took me a while to recognize that I needed to provide some extra stabilization for my tripod during these exposures. I took my trusty Gitzo magnesium Exporer tripod and I’m glad I did because I fear that my smaller and lighter Induro would have certainly been blown over. Even so, the rule for the night was to keep the tripod low and to manually try to keep the camera from being buffeted by the wind. Unfortunately, the center post hook on my Gitzo had vibrated loose and has been lost for a few years now, otherwise it would have been useful.

This image is a 10 second exposure, of course I took several. This one survived both tack sharp and with a very pleasing amount of sea activity. I used a bit of Lightroom and Photoshop magic to produce the beautiful warm light on the rocks when I hand layered together two differently processed version of the image – one with a slightly warmer white balance for the rocks and using the cooler white balance for the sea.

Leave a Reply

