Red Maple Impressions

Red Maple Impressions
Red Maple Impressions by I Nancy, on Flickr

Sunday I finally managed to find some quite time for an photography outing. My buddy Hutch and I made our plans before we had even determined the location. We were both armed with new copies of Canon’s 100mm L macro and the flowers are starting to bloom here in LA. We had originally planed to go up to Rose Valley, north of Ojai, but the foggy weather convinced us to try a different location. So instead we head on out to a local garden – Descanso Gardens in La Canada.

Here one of three impressionistic versions of the beautiful red maples in the Japanese garden. I was inspired for this approach as I watched my camera hunt for focus across multiple layers of leaves and branches.

Leave a Reply

