Camp Keeler Series

Camp Keeler #1
Camp Keeler #1 by I Nancy, on Flickr

Keeler California, located on the east shore of Owens Lake, population was 66 at the 2000 census. Home of the Cerro Gordo Mines, one of the richest producing silver, lead, and zinc begining in 1866 and peaking in the early 1880s. Silver from the mine was smelted in the town of Keeler and floated by steam boat across the Owens Lake. Ownen’s Lake is now a dry lake-bed and Keeler a decaying town.

But there is a sense of humor in Keeler where Norm Hoffman built his homage to the Lake on a plot of land which was once a lake side property before 1924 when Mulholland’s  Los Angeles Aqueduct bleed the lake dry.

I have visited Keeler twice now and hope for a few more visits. There is a wide variety of new and old. Everywhere cars and trailers in various states of repair and decay. Recently, instead of peppering around an image here and an image there, my goals are to create small focused studies. Here is the opening expose for my  full set of images entitled Camp Keeler.

Camp Keeler #2
Camp Keeler #2 by I Nancy, on Flickr

4 Responses to “Camp Keeler Series”

  1. Amazing pictures. I have been around that area many times yet haven’t gone here yet. Hopefully next time I’m in Owens Vally I’ll have a chance to check it out.

  2. Mitchell – You have to go there. Mostly I’ve been there for the early morning sun. It is quite a place.

  3. Cool… hopefully I can stop on my way home from Wyoming next time… look amazing

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

