Quite Light at Mesquite Dunes

Bushes
Quiet Light at Mesquite Dunes. Death Valley, California, by I Nancy on Flickr

Some time ago, the assignment in the Martin Bailey Photography Forum was quiet light. It was an interesting assignment for me. Although I’ve always admired low-contrast images, the approach had alluded me. These images, taken this past weekend at Mesquite Dunes in Death Valley, are my tribute to quiet light.

On this morning we were treated to a light layer of high clouds, what my friend Darrel Priebe calls God’s Softbox. I like how the gentle shapes of the dunes match the mood of the gentle light. The sky was a beautiful powder blue with nearly the same B&W tonal value as the dunes themselves. These images are pretty enough in color but the color contrasts were contradicting the whole low-contrast, quite light, feel that I was seeking.

The RAW files were first processed in Lightroom to adjust dynamic range, then brought into Silver Efex Pro for conversion into B&W.

Peaks
Peaks by I Nancy, on Flickr

More Death Valley Images

Leave a Reply

