Empty Promises

Empty Promises
Empty Promises by I Nancy, on Flickr

It has taken me quite some time to get to finishing the edits on these images. These were taken near on the 9/11 weekend 2010 at Pepperdine University in Malibu California. The location is just 1/2 or so from the Pacific ocean and is nearly always breezy or windy. The wind provided an interesting backdrop and challenge. I spent a good amount of time working with a slow shutter, trying to catch the wind. Ultimately, I was unsatisfied with these attempts. I then started to see a series of different minimal arrangements and this is the one that struck me the most. I can’t decide if I had wished that the flags extended, blowing in the wind, but I do not have another shot with that arrangement. In going through older shoots, when I am not so focused developing the days trophies, I learn a lot about what I did not accomplish and where I need to be more patient. This is one case.

A couple more shots below. One, again, working on a more minimal statement and the other taken from the middle of a large flag forest. The flag forest had a lot more impact in this moody, high contrast B&W. I lowered the red-channel to get those dark blacks in both the red and the blue.

Flag Parade #1
Flag Parade by I Nancy, on Flickr

Confusion
Confusion by I Nancy, on Flickr

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

