Ready, Aim, Fire!

Ready Aim Fire
Ready Aim Fire by I Nancy, on Flickr

This is the third year that I have attended the Civil War Reenactment in Moorpark California. Each year I find it as challenging as the last. First, there is some distance between you and the reenactors. Second, there is always something anachronistic – a watch, ear-plugs, glasses. Finally, there is the fact that these guys are better historians than actors – four guys hanging around a canon laughing just doesn’t emote the right essence of battle.

This year as I was sitting on the battle-lines, I was looking for opportunities that would cover up these kinds of problems. I had a good vantage point to the line of Union soldiers, pre-focused, set the camera to burst, and waited for the signal to fire.

I’m pleased with the graphic design of this one with its strong diagonal black/white balance but also the horizontal texture of the rifles.

Leave a Reply

