At the Edge

At the Edge
At the Edge by I Nancy, on Flickr

I’ve heard many photographers say that it takes a few weeks to get perspective on their photos after a trip. This is the case with this image of Horseshoe Bend, just south of Page Arizona. The photography at this spot is very predictable and the more traditional view has been taken by many people. While I was there, I remember thinking, “What shall I do that is different”? This image wasn’t one of those that stood out as something I needed to look at when I got back, but today, a few weeks after the trip, it captured my fancy. It  struck me for how different a take it was on the tried and true. You still see the big plateau and the mini-rock slide. You don’t see the 1000 foot drop, but instead the foreground rocks drawing you into the image.

I’m glad I found it.

Leave a Reply

