My Tableau Photography

At the Fountain

I do a lot of this type of, what some call, tableau photography. People in scenes. You could call it “Decisive Moment”, but I don’t want to be that pretentious.

All candid. This at a Civil War Re-Enactment
Man and His Horse

And this one at a local pumpkin stand

Dared To Look Up

The purpose of these photos are to show people in context, people in life. I hope you like them.

3 Comments to “My Tableau Photography”

  1. very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  2. maybe the last photo with the girl “could” be a tableau… but tableau is the complete opposite of the “decisive moment”….
    staging vs documentary
    here are some big names for tableau: Jeff Wall, Hannah Starkey, Philip Lorca DiCorcia, Erwin Olaf… see the difference..(beware of hybrids!)

  3. r0man – thanks for the input. I will look up those names. I had not considered staging vs documentary as differentiating tableau from decisive moment. Perhaps I should just revert to calling these just candids. Even if I used the word “street” some would argue.

Leave a Reply

