Picture Stories – Fish Out of Water

Somewhere in 2011, I became acutely aware of my commitment to telling stories with my photography. My stories are more often about place and time and less about people and events. I observe the action around me – the sights, the sounds, the smells. From this consciousness I form my interpretation. I let it sink in and marinate a little before brining the camera up to my eye and layering on all the compositional and technical stuff that merely provide the tools for my expression.

Sometimes, rarely, a single image will suffice. Often, mostly, a set of images combines to develop a deeper narrative. Frequently, usually, one image rises to become a keystone note.

Perhaps a better photographer could capture their impressions in just one image. Are there images in my picture stories that are but filler? But brevity is not my measure for good tale. A good story needs a beginning, middle, and an end. It needs tension but also rest and resolution.

Here I present Fish Out of Water, A Requiem for Fish. The story told to me by the Salton Sea.

Click to play

One Comment to “Picture Stories – Fish Out of Water”

  1. Quite a grim little story in many ways. At first thought, why fish? But, put into context of current environmental concerns, and then into the history of man’s brutality to fellow men, it makes sense. If your purpose was to be disconcerting, you have succeeded. The fact we live in a nice place makes us forget there are many other places in the world which are not quite so pretty. Our ecological disasters affect many things on many levels.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 692 other followers

